top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMia S

Hello Kitty

Today's Holidays: Purple Day, National Spinach Day, Make Up Your Own Holiday Day, American Diabetes Association Alert Day

Fact of the Day: There is only one nation that has a purple flag: Dominica

Website of the Day: https://www.converse.com/shop/hello-kitty


 

What if you had the power to make up your own holiday? What would it be?  Well, today is actually Make Up Your Own Holiday Day- so you really do have one day on the calendar to celebrate whatever you please!  When I was thinking about what I wanted to celebrate, my mind first went to cheesecake, of course, but National Cheesecake Day already exists.  Then I thought of my family, (I promise I’m not a horrible person- I love my family more than cheesecake!) but there are plenty of holidays to celebrate family.  How about Diet Coke? Well, there’s already a holiday to celebrate soda, and I wanted to take the time to celebrate something completely different- something I wouldn’t typically be able to celebrate on other national holidays.  Then it hit me: National Hello Kitty Day.


Now, before you laugh at the strangeness of a nineteen-year old girl still liking Hello Kitty, hear me out.  As you already know from my previous blog posts, I really love my cat, and I find cats, just in general, to be so cute (Sorry to all of my dog lovers reading this-notice how I didn’t write a post for National Puppy Day on March 23? I’m just kidding, dogs are pretty cool too).  So with that in mind, when I walked into a Hello Kitty store at an airport in China my junior summer, I felt like I was in my element. I had found my place in the world, surrounded by Hello Kitty stuffed animals, backpacks, and accessories. Though a bit of an exaggeration, I really did fall in love with Hello Kitty then, and I bought a mini stuffed animal.  


Me in This Amazing Hello Kitty Store (Rocking an Adidas Hat- No Idea Why)

Two years later, when it came time to buy my bedding for college, I was really excited to start designing my new room, but I just couldn’t seem to find a bedding that I really loved.  I knew I wanted my theme to be pink, but there was something missing from the simple pink duvets. Pottery Barn Teen announced their Hello Kitty line that summer, and as I scrolled through their page, I knew that I wanted a Hello Kitty theme.  If it were up to me, I would have the Hello Kitty mirror, pencil holder, and big “Hello” sign in my room right now, but my parents convinced me otherwise, (to not go overboard) and I now have Hello Kitty sheets and two Hello Kitty pillows. While all of my friends advised against the Hello Kitty sheets, I ignored them, because sometimes you just have to do what makes you happy!  I also have two really cool Hello Kitty bracelets that I wear from time to time.  So you may have read all of this and still be laughing at the oddness of my Hello Kitty obsession, but I thought I’d share my holiday anyway.


Me and All My Hello Kitty Gear


My Super Cool Hello Kitty Bracelet

There’s something so exciting about creating your own holiday that lies in its freedom and individuality.  Today you get to decide what you celebrate, so take advantage of the day and spend time eating that favorite food of yours, doing that favorite hobby of yours, or maybe, appreciating Hello Kitty!


Happy Make Up Your Own Holiday Day! How did you celebrate? Comment below or on @officialoneholiday ‘s instagram post! #celebrate #hellokitty #behappy

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page